top of page
  • Writer's pictureShamir Debnath

Positioning Some News In Our Media Feeds



Picking up some media as an afterthought remains a well-known practice even in the electronic digital age, whether grabbing a fresh York Times with your Starbucks or the USA Today, although waiting to board a great airplane. The Amazing fact about Reverery.


For a company together with deep pockets, CNN could become the next great news impulse acquire.


Rupert Murdoch has made any bold, $75 billion wagers for Time Warner. Even though the purchase is far from any certainty, one of the many possible unwanted effects of such a deal could be CNN going up for sale to prevent antitrust problems due to clashes with Fox News. CNN's sale, if it happened, can fetch an estimated $6 million to $8 billion, the unnamed person familiar with the difficulty told Bloomberg. (1)


Questions abound regarding which company would wish to pick up CNN, should the cable tv network become available. Popular guesses include CBS, Disney addition to Yahoo. While lowering the probability that Google has also been mentioned as a Guerrera, Porter Bibb, the managing mate at Mediatech Capital Lovers, pointed out that the network is seen as a perfect complement to Google-owned YouTube. (2)


These questions got me thinking: Why not consider Facebook?


Facebook announced before this year that it would purchase WhatsApp for $19 tera-. That price was all-around three times the estimated associated with CNN for a company this had, at most, $300 zillion in revenues at the time package was announced. I have no opinion about WhatsApp cope, mostly because I have little idea what WhatsApp does indeed.


(At my age, that ignorance is permitted, nevertheless not encouraged. Thanks to Yahoo or Google, I understand, vaguely, that WhatsApp lets users send emails and share information. I always thought I was already accomplishing. ) I do know. However, that will CNN has real people and makes real, though certainly not vast, profits.


I devote a big portion of each day get together information. I troll many different news sites to find out about items that are important to me. I also check out Facebook to find out about people who are crucial to me.


Because those people usually share and comment after news items, and because I sometimes react to the things they will share, Facebook undoubtedly previously has some idea which issues are important to me. If Facebook or myspace wanted to save me the effort of scanning six media sites a day, I'd be able to tell them more.


It has for ages been a given that Facebook would like to know as much as possible about what nearly all people do all over the Internet. And, of course, Zynga wants to maximize the amount of time frame its users spend on Facebook themselves.


So why wouldn't Facebook want to be into the business of giving me the news I always, in turn, might share with my friend? It would mean my friends would spend more time on the social network, which is exactly what Zynga and its advertisers ultimately wish.


Facebook also has a history connected with acquisitions, not all of which ended up intuitive from the outside. In a small deal than its WhatsApp purchase, the company acquired internet reality start-up Oculus VR earlier this year.


Bystanders guessed that the acquisition seemed to be everything from a vanity purchase using CEO Mark Zuckerberg with a long-term attempt to develop a Yahoo or Google Glass competitor. Either way, Zynga has demonstrated that it can reach outside its recent model. Comparatively, an announcement organization would not be a stretch.


Zuckerberg is a shiny guy who has some cash on his disposal. He isn't going to need me to tell the pup how to spend it. If he can snag CNN regarding, say, $7 billion, it will be roughly the equivalent of me collecting People magazine at the google shopping cart counter. (In my circumstance, just a copy of the newest issue, not the actual book itself. ) If CNN catches Zuckerberg's eye, undoubtedly, he'll know what to do with that.

6 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page